Alice Cooper announced the release of a six-track EP titled Breadcrumbs, which will arrive on September 13 via earMusic, and confirmed a new studio album will be out next year.

The label described Breadcrumbs as a “tribute to the garage rock heroes from his hometown Detroit city, and revealed that, along with a digital edition, 20,000 numbered 10-inch vinyl versions would be made available worldwide. Both editions are available for pre-order now.

Included are covers of “Sister Anne” by MC5, “Your Mamma Won’t Like Me” by Suzi Quatro and “Devil With a Blue Dress” by Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels. Cooper is joined on the recordings by MC5’s Wayne Kramer, jazz singer Paul Randolph, former Grand Funk Railroad member Mark Farner, ex Detroit Wheels drummer Johnny "Bee" Badanjek and Mick Collins.

Cooper outlined his release plans in March, explaining that he’d decided to focus on the music of his hometown. “There's a certain Detroit sound we're looking for," he said. “It's indefinable. There's a certain amount of R&B in it. There's a certain amount of Motown in it. But then you add the guitars and you add the attitude and it turns into Detroit rock. I feel like if we mine around with all Detroit players, we're gonna find that sound.”

He’s just begun a tour of North America with Halestorm, which ends of August 16, to be followed by a run of his own dates from November 6 to November 29.

Alice Cooper - Breadcrumbs Track List

1. “Detroit City 2020”
2. “Go Man Go”
3. “East Side Story”
4. “Your Mama Won’t Like Me”
5. “Devil With a Blue Dress” / “Chains of Love”
6. “Sister Anne”


Alice Cooper Albums Ranked 

More From 94.9 WMMQ