If You Ignore School Bus Stop Signs in Michigan, You’re Now More Likely to Get Caught
Two new laws aimed at keeping kids safe on and around school busses go into effect in Michigan Monday, Oct. 11, 2021.
We've all seen someone blow by a school bus when its red lights are flashing and its stop sign is extended - well, those drivers are are now more likely to get caught.
What drivers are supposed to do is stop at least 20 feet from a school bus with its stop sign out, and stay put "until the school bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated."
Under previous law, a police officer had to witness a driver fail to stop when a bus had its stop arm extended, Fox 17 reports.
One of the new laws, Public Act 50 of 2021 – Michigan Vehicle Code, now allows police to use video from cameras on the outside of school buses to track down drivers who are not following the law.
Drivers who ignore school bus stop signs can face a fine up to $500.
Another law aims to keep people who don't have permission from entering a school bus. Public Act 49 of 2021 – The Pupil Transportation Act states,
A driver of a school bus shall not transport or permit to be transported on a school bus while transporting pupils to
and from school an individual other than pupils, individuals enrolled in a school-sponsored preschool program authorized by state or federal statute, teachers or chaperons of the pupils or other individuals authorized by the school for the protection of property or the health, safety, and welfare of the pupils or individuals attending other school related functions, or both... An individual other than an authorized person shall not enter a school bus without the permission of the driver of the school bus.
Under another amendment to the Pupil Transportation Act, school busses can now display a sticker that reads,
An unauthorized person attempting to board or boarding this school bus is subject to citation for a civil infraction and may be ordered to pay a civil fine of not more than $500.00.