(The Six O'Clock Triple Shot is a daily feature of three songs that share a common theme, heard weeknights on 94.9 WMMQ)

This day in rock history, Bob Seger's The Distance LP was certified platinum by RIAA, the seventh Seger LP to be named as such. The album had five singles extracted from it, though none would reach number one on the Billboard Hot 100. (That feat wouldn't come until 1987 with "Shakedown", 26 years into Seger's career.) The Distance was mostly recorded with The Silver Bullet Band, except for one track, "Comin' Home", which featured Seger's reunion with The Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section. The LP also featured studio work from Don Felder (guitar on "Even Now" and "Boomtown Blues"), fellow Detroiter Glenn Frey (harmony vocals on "Shame On The Moon), and Bonnie Raitt (harmony vocals on "Makin' Thunderbirds".

Tonight, we feature three from this LP for The Six O'Clock Triple Shot. "Even Now", the first track on the album; the road cruisin' classic "Roll Me Away", and the Rodney Crowell penned classic "Shame On The Moon".